Off The Grid!

Have you ever had the urge to just pick up, leave your job and travel the world? Francesca and I have…. and now we’re actually doing it! We’ve quit our jobs and on October 5th, 2009 we’ll leave our family and friends in NYC to embark on a six month travel odyssey that will take us to Europe, The Middle East, Africa, Asia and Australia/New Zealand.

If you’re too tied into your 9 to 5 or just plain too smart to do likewise, then grab an armchair seat and travel vicariously through us.

The world awaits!

Click below to see our projected route around the world. For aesthetic purposes I only picked one or two major cities in each country, but be sure to check out our detailed itinerary travel map.


_________________________________________________________
We have created this blog so anyone who is interested can follow our travels and hopefully join us somewhere along the route for a city or two. We are also eager to hear recommendations for places to eat or things to see from any of you well traveled readers out there. Make sure to click on the “Travel Map” page link on the right hand side bar to see where we’ve been and where we’re headed.

 

14 Responses to “Off The Grid!”

  1. Found the blog and looking forward to reading about your odyssey…

  2. Thanks Diana!! Hopefully you and Dan can join us somewhere along our route!!

  3. Michael Neff Says:

    Hi Dan, Looks great, look forward to following along, I have some South African/Namibia contacts and recommendations, call me..

  4. I’ve got her all loaded up in RSS so I can live it vicariously. Bon voyage, my friends!

    Hey, that animated route vid is sa-weet! May I ask what you used to make it?

    • Thanks Mitch! The animated route vid was made using………..what, and give away all of my creative secrets??!! Okay, since ya like a brutha to me. I made it with iMovie on my Mac. You pretty much just put in the cities and it does the rest. Easy as you like.

  5. enjoy! Look forward to hearing about your travels.

  6. So absolutely cool your trip–I’m a friend of Dan’s and Diana’s (Dan from Kellogg and Diana from Wellesley) and found your blog that way. I am subscribing to your feed, but what I really want to know is why aren’t you coming to Brazil? Add some time and we’ll put you up here in Sao Paulo…!

    • Hi Kristin! Any friend of Dan & Diana’s is a friend of ours! Thanks for reaching out. Now the better question is why didn’t Dan & Diana introduce us to you a year earlier when we went to Brazil on our honeymoon!!!???? 🙂 We got married in Buenos Aires and then went to southern Argentina, Chile and Brazil (Rio & Buzios) on our honeymoon. As a result of just having been there (and living in close proximity to Latin America so we’ve been all over there over the past several years) we are, unfortunately, not stopping there on this trip. Whats worse is we will be ending up in LA so we’ll be even farther from Brazil once we get back! 😦 Oh no! BUT, how about you come to a big party we’re having in Istanbul on Nov 7-8th to celebrate my 40th bday? Come on Kristin, you know you want to! 😛

  7. Thanks for sharing such a fastidious idea,
    piece of writing is fastidious, thats why i have read it fully

  8. An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I do believe that you should publish more about this
    issue, it may not be a taboo matter but typically people do not speak about such topics.
    To the next! Cheers!!

  9. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is
    added I get four emails with the same comment. Is
    there any way you can remove me from that service? Cheers!

    • I am not sure how to prevent you from getting notifications, but this is not an active blog so there shouldn’t be too many going forward. Apologies for the inconvenience.

Leave a Reply

