Youtube Hurt My Feelings!! :(

No YoutubeWhen I occasionally post videos to my blog I typically do so by uploading the video clip first to Youtube and then embedding it into my blog. However, I found that when I try to visit http://www.youtube.com in Turkey I am greeted with something like a Websense message prohibiting me from accessing the site.

youtube band

So I did some research and found that Youtube has been banned in Turkey since early 2007 due to video insults that Greeks had lobbed against the Turks including calling the founder of the Republic of Turkey, Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, a homosexual.  It is actually against the law in Turkey to ridicule the country and its leaders (including dead ones apparently).

Coming from a nation that believes in freedom of speech and freedom of the press it seems to me quite juvenile to shut down a major website because your big brother Greece called you names and hurt your feelings, but then again there is a lot of history between these two countries that I am sure I’m not appreciating so what do I know?

Incidentally since the government controlled Turk Telecom is basically the only internet provider in Turkey they were able to effectively shut down the Youtube site without too much difficulty.  The ban is now in its 3rd year.

Here is a link if you are interested in the full story.

Oh, I also found a work around proxy that by passes the ban.

https://youtubeproxy.org/default.aspx

Yeah freedom of speech!!!

Leave a Reply

