Crazy King Ludwig II and his Amazing Dream Castle

IMG_3764

Ever since I first saw photos of Neuschwanstein when I was a boy I vowed to some day visit that enchanting Bavarian castle.  Well consider that one boyhood dream fulfilled.  And I was not disappointed even though it is probably best viewed in the Spring, Summer or Winter (see photo collage below).  I actually found the fall foliage to be a sumptuous backdrop for the castle that was the inspiration for Disney’s Sleeping Beauty Castle.

I thought a little photo slideshow might be best to show off Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau (a lesser known, but equally impressive castle nearby), but here is a collage of professionally taken photos of Neuschwanstein in all four seasons so you can see it in all its splendor.  This particular camera angle was apparently not available to us without a considerable hike which time did not allow for.

newschwanstein 4 seasons

The story of why and how the castle was built is fairly interesting.  If you are interested you can visit the links below for more information, but the basic story is that Ludwig II became king at 18 years of age when his father died and he immediately moved the royal year round living quarters from Munich to his boyhood summer home in Fussen and proceeded to have several sumptuous castles built in the area, one of which was Neuschwanstein.  He never married (although he was engaged once to a princess, but broke it off without explanation) and was given to bouts of eccentric behavior including drilling holes in the ceiling of his bed chamber and having eunuchs light and hold candles through those holes from the room above to simulate evening stars.  He died mysteriously (along with his doctor) in a lake in Munich at age 40.

IMG_2101edit

Neuschwanstein was never completed.  Incidentally Neuschwanstein means “New Swan Palace” and it was a source of inspiration for the classical composer Ricard Wagner (of “Swan Lake” fame) who was friends with Ludwig and visited the castle several times.

Click here for more info on King Ludwig II and Neuschanstein Castle

12 Responses to “Crazy King Ludwig II and his Amazing Dream Castle”

  1. Nice blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it
    from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog jump out.
    Please let me know where you got your design.
    Bless you

  2. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my weblog
    so i came to “return the favor”.I am attempting to find things
    to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!

    !

  3. I think everything posted was actually very reasonable.

    But, what about this? suppose you wrote a catchier title?
    I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your blog, however suppose you added something to possibly grab folk’s attention?
    I mean Crazy King Ludwig II and his Amazing Dream Castle | Eat, Play, Love is kinda boring.

    You could look at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they write news titles to get viewers to open the links. You might try adding a video or a related pic or two to grab people excited about everything’ve written.
    Just my opinion, it might bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

    • Dan Jahns Says:

      Hi Elbert, thanks for your comment and constructive feedback. I actually pride myself on my blog post titles as they are all meant to be humorous and often employ puns. In the case of Crazy King Ludwig and his Amazing Dream Castle, it was a reference to a famous musical called Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. While that one may not be that funny, it was a cultural reference. Also, I don’t think people search by title, but by subject matter so anything about the castle or King Ludwig would certainly bring up my story. As for Eat, Play, Love, that was a reference to the best selling book Eat, Pray, Love and speaks to exactly what our trip was about (with Playing rather than Praying). Thanks again for taking the time to reply. Best, Dan

  4. With havin so much content do you ever run into
    any issues of plagorism or copyright violation? My blog has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any solutions to help protect against content from being ripped off? I’d definitely appreciate it.

    • Dan Jahns Says:

      Hi Ulrich, thanks for your comment. I haven’t really tracked if my photos are showing up elsewhere and honestly am not too concerned about it – although perhaps I should be. For that reason i have not looked into copyright protection on my content. But let me know if you find any good solutions. Thanks! Dan

  5. Great site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find excellent writing like yours nowadays.
    I really appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  6. Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

  7. Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from
    my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look
    forward to all your posts! Carry on the outstanding work!

Leave a Reply

